On the road again: Busselton Jetty

Busselton Jetty

Last week I was getting a bit of cabin fever with all the rainy weather & decided on a roadtrip. Its not often I get to catch up with my older sister Myriam & family. She lives a few hours south from us & going on a road trip with a fidgety toddler is a freaking nightmare (so I packed his nano (nanna) to entertain my sweet child on the car ride & to keep my sanity).

We are polar opposites she is the night owl where I am the early morning worm, so we have to meet somewhere in the middle. Like most sisters we argue on E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G (but will always have eachother’s back if need be). From big issues to parenting (no I will not let everyone feed Kobe chocolate or he wont eat normal food!) to petty issues where I argued defiantly that rissoles & hamburger patties were the same thing even though Myriam was right & said rissoles were smaller (& ofcourse I never admitted I was wrong- ha!). Oh silly family politics… Anyone else knew they were wrong but sheepishly couldn’t admit to it on something so trivial? Im shocking that way…

More Busselton Jetty

Mermaid boat

And back to the roadtrip further south to Busselton, home of the longest timber-piled jetty in the southern hemisphere with 2 more passengers, sister Myriam & nephew Jayden. Kobe calls him “Uncle Jay Jay” & made him read him storybook after storybook. Kobe may look like his dad Luke but I kid you not when I compare pictures of Kobe to when my nephew Jayden was a wee one all I see is Kobe staring back at me thru Jaydens face. I can only hope he turns out to be as well rounded as Jayden. (PLus Jay seems to always back me in a silly argument- hee hee).

Busselton Jetty train

Not to be deterred by the sprinkling of rain (inbetween sparse patches of sun) or the fact the water observatory was closed due to the murkiness of the water. We bought our tickets & hopped aboard the jetty train.

Dolphins

Out of the corner of my eye, I see movement between the ripples. A tail fin??? Similar to that of a shark but friendlier, a dolphin. We were blessed to see glimpses of dolphins diving in & out the water while they scanned for fish from our view on the jetty. My shoes may have been soaked full of rain but my heart was full from spending precious time with my family watching these beautiful sea creatures. Its moments like these in the dreary rain when you see miracles surrounded by loved ones you realize how lucky we are.

Happy Friday Friends!

Miss G
xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in live, love, travel Western Australia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

