Dollars & sense

Dollars & sense

Well July has been a tough month financially with a gazillion birthdays & entertainment expenses, the water/council rates due anytime now, a $900 heater repair bill, my timing belt on my car due to be replaced, & being a family of 3 living on a single income I thought I would jump on the tightening purse bandwagon for the month of August. Which frugal followers will join me on this penny pinching exercise?

The rules
*Not to buy any NEW items (excepting food).
*Write a realistic budget & stick to it.
*Upcycle old things & give new life to them instead of discarding them.
*Compost food scraps (ok this is more for environmental reasons but its a valid point none the less).

Handy tips
*Joining the local library & borrow out books, magazines & dvds.
*Saving the coupons that arrive in the mailbox. You never know what will come in handy. We get takeout once a week so pizza coupons & 2 for 1 deals are quite handy.
*My friend Rach suggested a swapmeet between friends where you bring any excess household stuff you have to swap. Such a brilliant idea so nothing goes to waste.
*Instead of buying a new outfit borrow a friends if your have one that is similar in size & taste. Or you can rent designer dresses online at a fraction of the cost.
*Planting herbs that you constantly use in cooking; basil, rosemary, mint, thyme. Saves you buying a bundle everytime you make a dish.
*For those with kids, hit the markets & buy thrifted toys its amazing what you can buy for little money. Or better yet join a toy library where you pay an annual fee & can borrow out different toys all year round which saves you buying them.

I will be posting frugal tips all month & welcome any frugal tips you may have to share:)

Happy Sunday friends!

Miss G
xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Fantastically frugal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dollars & sense

  1. Great tips! We are also a family of three on one income and I really need to get my spending in check before we become a family of four. Not that I do much shopping for myself these days but I do tend to splurge on things for my daughter and impulse buys at the supermarket. Love to hear your thoughts on budgeting for & planning of supermarket shopping & meals.

  2. Hi!

    Hope you don’t mind, but I’ve nominated you for a Best moment award. Please do not feel pressured to accept or act on this, it takes time, and some thought, but I believe you deserve it for the moments your blog has given me. Here’s a link to my acceptance post, which explains the rules as well.

    http://jenniferbchaz.com/2013/08/05/best-moment-award/

    Congratulations and many thanks

Leave a Reply

