My island home: A daytrip to Rottnest Island

Rottnest

The sunny weather sure has been sticking around so my sister Annie & I decided to take advantage & take lil Kobe to Rottnest Island for a daytrip. A quick 30 minutes off Fremantles coast by ferry & we were stepping on another island.

More Rottnest

We couldnt of picked a more perfect day. The weather gods answered my prayers & the sun was glistening across the bays.

The basin beach

Quokka

We meandered up to The basin beach (which is a super quick 5 minute walk). As usual I always forget one thing, which in this case was my snorkels (like I would have the time to snorkel anyway but still! Arggh!). I did manage to find a large shell on the beach while Annie was chasing the waves with Kobe. My memento for our time at Rottnest:) On the walk back to grab some lunch we met the friendly island critters, the quokkas. They are like giant furry cute mice that are native to this island.

Jetty

The jetty is so iconic of Rottnest I think. If you squint you can even see Perth city buildings in the far off distance across the ocean in the background. Kobe absolutely idolized the boys that were running up & jumping off the jetty, he even jumped off himself (into mama’s arms ofcourse!).

Pelican

The last time I visited Rottnest 3 years ago with a friend visiting from the UK, there were pelicans swimming round the main jetty near where the ferries depart from. And they are still there, yay! They casually float around waiting for the spare fish the fisherman throw back in the water from their boats.

Peacock

With the day coming to an end. It was a shame that we didnt get to go bike riding but after lunch the last thing I/Annie wanted to do was haul a 12kg child behind on a bike pedalling uphill (save that for when we visit with daddy I think!:)). Still, It really was one fine day trip. (Apart from the fact I had to carry a pram up & down the ferry steps with 2 carry bags, eh).

Happy Monday Friends!

Miss G
xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in live, love, travel Western Australia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

