Simple playtime: living with less toys

Toys

Growing up in a low income family (where for a few years my dad was raising up kids single handedly & doing an awesome job at it), us kids never had toys in excess but had enough to keep us happy. As a kid, my favourite memories were after school spent at the park climbing trees, catching tadpoles & frogs in the ponds, riding my bike on adventures, playing the odd Nintendo/Sega game or trolling for hidden treasure at the local junkyard. Man did I have fun. I had a happy childhood & I wish the same for Kobe.
That’s why since having Kobe I have made a conscious decision to be a more considerate consumer & not spoil him with every toy under the sun. I don’t see the point in buying the lastest must have toys when his attention span isn’t really long, toys should be played with & not sitting on a shelf collecting dust. That & the fact we are a family living on one income so we stretch the dollars out as far as we can.
According to The Herald Sun, in Australia the cost of raising a child is $1028,093. That’s over a million dollars which is including entertainment, food, clothes, education countered with the fact that kids are now staying at home until 24 years old.
That’s a crazy figure to even comprehend so I thought I would get a head start on keeping costs down by only buying what I think are the essential toys to keep Kobe entertained but also stimulate his imagination. Here are a few of our favourite things…

Vintage children book

I cant go past a pre-loved copy of Little Golden books or vintage children books. I treasure the moment before Kobe’s bed time where I sit in the rocking chair & read Kobe a few pages of a storybook (before he loses interest & grabs another after another…). I will be keeping these books & reading them to my grandchildren.

Cars & trains

Nostalgia played a key part in buying some of these toys. Kobe like his dad is a massive rev head. A many of his beloved toy cars & trains have fuelled up at this vintage Shell petrol station (bought cheap at the markets).

Chalkboard

Someone else’s junk became our treasure in the form of this chalkboard. All it needed was a fresh coat of chalkboard paint (which I had leftover) & he goes wild scribbling all over it (& so do I!).

Playdough

I jumped on the home made playdough making train when Kobe was sick for a couple weeks. Time certainly stands still when your stuck inside all day with a sick child. It was my saviour to stop him begging for tv. Lucky for me I had a yoga mat & cookie cutters (I never used) which now get a daily workout.

And because I cant escape the tv I will name it & shame myself. The boy loves watching Gumby while eating his lunch & dinner. So that rounds out our favourite toys for this lil frugal family. And yes Kobe has some wonderful memories on his daily adventures to the park just like mama does:)

Happy Monday friends!

Miss G
xx

**Please note this is how we choose to live our live as frugal as possible, we dont expect everyone to have the same hopes & dreams & write this without judgement to what toys you allow your child to have:) Each to our own.
**So far so good but we are coming up to his 2nd birthday in a few short months so hopefully we can stick to the same path we are on.

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in The mama diaries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

