Child’s play

handmade dolls clothes

Im such a fan for anything handmade, to have something individually lovingly created by an crafter/artist is what I prefer over a mass produced product at gift time.

doll apron set & swimsuit

Which is why I had a crazy thought that I should make some doll’s clothes for my niece’s Miss M’s 2nd birthday. Being such a big dreamer I naturally sketched all these designs worthy of any Parisian couture house. Unfortunately I dont have my own seamstress onhand so I had to tone them down (& then some) to match my basic sewing skills.

apron

Excuse my very old & very much loved rocker cabbage patch doll she is my model for this post:) Sewing takes me forever, I basically sew in the only spare place in our itty bitty home which is on our dining table. So I can only do it at night after dinner in poor lighting & I have to pack it up before bed. Having said that Im proud of the way the apron & oven mitts turned out even if these were my second attempt at the oven mitts. The first was too small.

swimsuit

We are right in the middle of a heatwave. Hello summer your finally here! On christmas it will be hot hot hot at 39 degrees. So these mini retro inspired bathers are perfect for any pool parties Miss M takes her doll to hee hee.

tutu

And last but not least every little girl needs a tutu skirt for her doll. I would of liked to make a Swan lake type ballerina outfit but I was clueless how to do it plus I was making everything including pattern by hand so I smartly chose just to do a poofy skirt.

ladybird cake

Check out this cute ladybird birthday cake. Mum Miss S did a fantastic job making it from scratch!

Eating cake

(“SSSh dont tell mum!”). Grandma feeding K-bear cake.

Hopefully I will be back to posting somewhat regularly after all the hoopla of this silly season is over.

Happy sewing!

Miss G
xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Crafty creations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

