D.I.Y Christmas wreath

DIY christmas wreath

I had a 15 minute window to get a craft project done so I figured I would squeeze in this upcycled Christmas wreath. I basically made it out of last year’s tree which I bought secondhand a few years back & it was looking quite sparse so I gave him a new lease on life (and so we wouldn’t be tree-less, I made a Christmas tree out of a branch & hung wooden decorations on it for this year as I needed a small tree that wouldn’t draw a cheeky child to it to break it on down. Yes he still broke a santa off it but I managed to glue him back together).

Anyhow… I have always wanted a Christmas wreath but those things are pricey! And we are surviving on one income this Christmas so it’s definitely a time to get creative on the cheap. So I pulled out last year’s very worn down tree out from the garage, gave him a hose down from spiders & decided to chip chop him up into a wreath. This was such an easy D.I.Y project (with a couple of glue gun war wounds).

Supplies needed

Things needed

  • Tree branches off artificial tree
  • Christmas decorations (balls & ornaments)
  • Glue gun & glue sticks
  • Pinecones (I found some for free while out walking, it’s optional to spray them but I left them au’natural)
  • Hanging wire or string

Going glue gun crazy

1.Cut off branches off artificial tree. As the branches are bendy with wire, I wrapped each branches together at the end which blended in seamlessly into a circle shape. I even managed to glue a few extra leafy branches ontop to cover any exposed wire.

2.Display the layout of decorations to how you want them on the wreath. Then I went around glueing each ornament on the back to the branch. It glued within seconds so I pressed each ornament down until it was firmly stuck on before glueing the next one. Then trim off any decoration string.

3.I used thin wire to wrap around the top to make a hanging hook. And tada…

Christmas wreath completed

…An upcycled Christmas wreath. Im so estatic about the way the wreath turned out. I was going to hang him outside but then I didn’t want him melting in the heat (or someone stealing him) so we hung him above the dining table. That way everyone can admire my handiwork over Christmas lunch:)

Decorations upclose

Are you all set for Christmas? We still have a few more Christmas gifts to get then we are done. Time to crank out the Christmas tunes & indulge in the egg nog.

Miss G

xx

 

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Crafty creations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

