From little things, big things grow: A garden tour

A couple weekends ago, I saw a flyer advertising an open garden. I love having a sticky beak at how other people style their gardens so I thought why not? For a small fee with part proceeds towards The compassionate friend Mandurah charity, Mr L & Miss S kindly let open their gardens for public viewing.

I really wasn’t expecting behind the large gates, the oasis of green awaiting us.

To think this couple who started with a half acre of barren sand & with unwavering steely determination transformed it into the garden of eden complete with archways of wisteria, a pond, a vegetable patch, chickens coops & a bazillion variety of flowers is a real feat over the course of 4 years. I take my hat off to them, from a little idea they now have a big beautiful garden to relax in. I have a tiny patch for a garden & I cant seem to sustain anything. Seeing this garden has definitely given me an urge to make an effort with mine.

It was tempting to run barefoot with flowers draped around my head (all that was missing was a long floaty dress) but I didn’t want to risk getting booted out before taking my fairshare of photos hee hee. So I had to make do with my slummy mummy outfit hence the photo Im actually in is blurred… My lovely old school mate Miss H was my reluctant model infront of the flowering arch.

The holly hocks (aka, the flower in the blog post header) absolutely stole my heart. I swear they were more than a metre tall with the chunkiest flower I have ever seen. I can see these flowers lining my garden bed all I needed was a shovel (no that’s naughty I will attempt to grow them ha ha). As luck would have it I was able to buy a few packets to take home. And I am assured that they need minimal care which sounds like a match made in heaven!

It felt like eons that Miss H & I were in the garden taking photos  as there were so many flowers with each one more pretty than the next (I cant even fathom the maintenance that would go into looking after a garden this size). While basking in the serenity of the pond & watching the fat koi fish swimming we heard a lil rustling; hmmm no pets around, a lizard perhaps, giant insect, who knows but before we could let our imaginations get the best of us we thought we would finish up our tour here before whatever it was comes out to play…

Now its time to get my little idea of a garden happening:)

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

