We built this city… on awesome vintage & cute knick knacks

We built this city on rock n’ rock, the back of a mining boom, on awesome vintage & cute knick knacks (& so much more!!!). I love Perth (except all the roadworks being done at the moment). In my early twenties I wasnt a fan but with each year that goes past I become more & more of a fan. But then again in my early twenties I went to the same places over & over again & wondered why I was bored. And now I venture out of my comfort zone & explore to seek out the many hidden gems that make up this city.

This is one of those indulgent posts on beautiful objects. Yes very materialistic I know but its a habit I’m trying to break but I can still dream cant I? My alltime favourite shop is Rummage in Northbridge. Its a mecca of all things accessories with rings & bags in all bright colours & hues. It takes a strong lady to walk out of here empty handed. And yes those are feather ceiling shades, absolutely divine!

My sister Miss A introduced me to Oh Henry Vintage which is happily divided into 2 stores across from eachother so you can skip from one to the other. I crazy love looking at prom/party dresses from another era. My mum has some fabulous dresses from way back Im yet to borrow (if my sister hasnt got there first & moved them to her wardrobe for safe keeping). And those men bowties Mr L would never dare wear them as he favours soccer shirts but Im definately making some mini-bow ties for my lil man K-bear.

Pop up stores are all the rage in Northbridge at the moment, if Im lucky I get to check them out before they disappear. As luck would have it I got to check out Ware pop-up store. Im crushing on those totem bowls (until I saw the price tag). I would be living off 2 minute noodles for a month to afford these bowls BUT I just love prawns, chocolate & gourmet food too much to justify the purchase…

No shopping trip is complete without the ultimate shopper sister Miss A doing her thang burrowing thru racks & racks of vintage at her fave vintage store Miss Brown. She found herself some denim shorts & an embroidered top. We like to be the voice of reason to eachother when eyeing off potential purchases “do we really need it”. Our code when one of us thinks you shouldnt buy it is “I think you have something similar” atleast its not offensive as to really saying “its fugly so walk away now!”. Every sane shopper needs a code right???:) I was so utterly drained by the end of it that I could barely muster the energy to drink my coffee pick me up before picking up the lil man from grandma’s. That was my lil time out in this sweet city of mine.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Happy shopping!

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Shoppe love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

