Sustainable fiesta

The past few years I have tried to be as eco-friendly & kind as I can be to the environment by recycling, up-cycling, growing my own veggies, decorating with bits & bobs of secondhand goodies & wearing mostly thrifted clothes. So imagine my delight when I heard about a fiesta which celebrates sustainable living. Oh joy joy joy!

So I grabbed my inner hippie to check out Hulbert Street sustainable fiesta in Fremantle, Western Australia. Upon a gold coin donation for entry, it was so refreshing to be greeted by an octopus & turtle sand castle. I cant imagine how many hours went into carving sand into something so intricate. Organizers had set up a tree where you could hang your environmental message on if you wanted to.

Hulbert street was lined with tented stalls with everything from funky furniture made from reclaimed wood, preloved clothes, floral artwork, environmental petitions to sign, recycling stations, fresh produce, plants to crafty stuff for the kiddies. I threw myself into the clothing stalls but sadly came out empty handed:( Which was probably for the best as I have no room in my closet & Im meant to be decluttering not accumulating stuff…

Some kind residents even opened up their gardens to the public. I had a stickybeak to see how green-conscious they were. The gardens were decked out with raised garden beds, chicken pens & worm farms. I have always wanted a worm farm but I think they are too much maintenance for lil old me. For now Im quite happy to dig the compost straight into my garden.

And for the kiddies there was a fairy garden (complete with fairies painting faces). Its so cute the stuff kids make when they are little. Im hanging for when my son K-bear can paint or draw. The closest he has gotten is pen marks on the couch:( Note to self put pens way out of reach of curious toddlers!!!

A quick bite to eat signalled the end of the fiesta for us. We had so much fun (ok partner Mr L was out of his element but patiently waited while K-bear & I explored everything). I did take home a few ideas on how to be enjoy a greener life & hopefully can put them into practise soon.

All I know that if there was one street to move to (other than the fictional Ramsay street off Neighbours or Wisteria lane off Desperate housewives) it would be Hulbert street. The neighbours share books housed in a community tin shed & also make pizza on the street’s mobile pizza oven. All thats missing is singing coombaya around a fire. I wonder if they let squatters into this wonderful community?!?

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Mad markets & fantastic festivals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

