A poppy for pop: Father’s day gift

Last Sunday it was father’s day here in Australia. So I made a special lil something for my dad from my special lil man K-bear & I. For the dad/poppy that wants for nothing we thought to spruce up a potted flower.

Things needed

  • Glue gun
  • Flower to plant
  • Empty tin (I used a milo tin)
  • Coloured feathers & bamboo skewers
  • Thick plain bright ribbon
  • Patterned ribbon
  • Scissors
  • Cut out foam letters (I scored a bag of letters from the markets)

1. Measure the thick ribbon around the top of the tin & cut & glue. Repeat with the patterned ribbon on top.

2.Glue letters onto tin below the ribbon

3.Drill some holes in the bottom of the tin & plant a poppy flower in it.

4. Grab a couple of bamboo skewers & line up assorted feathers of different colours & sizes on top. Glue thick ribbon around them to secure then repeat with patterned ribbon. Stick into pot as a funky decoration.

Tada… I love how the bright feathers offset the tangerine of the poppy flower. I just hope the tin doesn’t rust too quickly.K-bear showing Poppy how to water & care for his poppy plant. Beware there is about to be water everywhere…And back to the beginning. It was love at first sight for this pair & that love grows tenfold by the day. CUTE!

Happy crafting!

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Crafty creations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

