Eco shopping

Image

The craft project that almost wasn’t done due to me finally reading (months & months after the rest of the world) The Hunger Games. I seriously couldnt put it down & if I didnt value my sleep I would be up all hours of the night reading. But fortunately I finished book 1 & am now on the long waiting list at the library for book 2. So back to my crafty stuff.

Image

A good project starts with an idea. So I bought this cute raffia bag at the markets & decided I would pretty it up with some longstitch embroidery. Influenced by the kitshy tulip fabric I used in my Pastry Queen post, I thought why not stitch some tulips on.

Things needed

  • Straw/raffia bag
  • Coloured thread
  • Large embroidery needle for threading wool
  • Lead pencil & eraser
  • Scissors

Image

1. Using the lead pencil I drew on the outline of the tulips. I decided I was going to have 3 tulips in a field of grass. I threaded up & down thru the bag all the tulips & stems. (You have to be careful with threading raffia as it’s brittle).

Image

2. For the grass, I wanted multi-textured grass so I started with a medium green wool. I threaded in bunches of 3 alternating lengths & angles. I left gaps inbetween for the other 2 green hues I wanted to use.

Image

3. Next I used a darker green & pretty much used the same technique & threaded them inbetween the medium green colour. Lastly I used the light green wool to fill in any gaps & give the grass a bit more texture. I erased any pencil markings that were showing on the bag.

Image

4. And tada… The finished tulips growing in their meadow. Eventually I would like to make a liner for the inside of the bag to protect it from getting too dirty. But for now, Im happy with the way it looks.

Image

I will still be using my environmental cloth bags for grocery shopping but now I can take this one as an extra as it’s handy to carry all my light stuff like bread, newspaper & toilet paper etc.

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Crafty creations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eco shopping

  1. agujasblog says:

    That bag is so pretty! Nice job. (And I totally understand about The Hunger Games. My son read each book in 1-2 days and raved about them so I had to read them too.)

    • figsandtwigs says:

      Thank you. (My niece & nephew got me into the series. And the library has just told me that book 2 is ready for pick up. Yay! I will be AWOL the next week desperately reading it hee hee).

Leave a Reply

