In my Zen zone

Everybody needs a place where they can chill out when times are tough even if its only for 5 minutes. So I decided I needed such a place, a little sanctuary in my home. So where better than my courtyard.

This is what I had beforehand. A Yucca tree that spiked me everytime I walked past & bare soil around it=boring!

No more Yucca tree but a large ugly hole… So I went to the markets & bought some succulents & cactus (yes spikey but in a smaller scale).

I placed a birdbath (another market find) which I painted grey in the centre & scattered succulents & cactus around. Seriously had to be careful I didnt want to be spiked:(

I bought some black chunky riverstones (on special for AUS$8 for 15kg, I used 3 bags). I scattered small coloured riverstones (which were previously used as decor around candles in bowls around my home) around the large black stones. I actually found this soothing even though I had to rushingly do it in my son’s nap times.

So soothing until I ran out of little riverstones & I was a couple succulent plants short. At this point I wanted to just give up & add this project to my pile of unfinished projects… But no I promised myself I would finish. So after dropping K-bear off to his grandparents so I could run around like a madwoman to find some small riverstones. After 6 shops, I found some more, hooray! I can finish, the end is in sight.

I added a few extra quirks to my zen zone; Ellie the elephant & 2 retro flamingo’s Frankii & Freddie.

Tada… so more better to look out while Im having my morning coffee or reading a book while K-bear is having a nap. Or when the weather gets hotter, he can splash around in his clam shell while I chillax beside him.

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Interior Styling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

