Pastry Queen

Image

I wish I was born with a skill which would then define a career path for me, I still dont know what Im born to do. Yet I somehow ended up in loss prevention. My good friend pastry queen Miss L was born to well bake. She is that person that brings some scrumptious dish to a gathering & everyone fights over the last crumbs. I have licked many a tasty dish of hers clean & Im not ashamed to admit it. I was so excited that she is following her dream & starting Tafe to carve out a career in all things pastry delights. YUM!

So I thought I would make her a lil something…

Image

I found this kitsh tulip fabric which I thought would be cute to make a retro inspired 1950’s apron similar to the one in the top photo on Miss Tartufo gelati van.

Things needed

  • Kitsh fabric
  • Lace to line edges (optional but you could do frills instead)
  • Thread
  • Overlocker & sewing machine
  • Scissors
  • Tailors chalk
  • Measuring tape
  • Pins

Image

1. As everyone’s body shape is different & if you want to make an apron similar to this I definately recommend measuring yourself before cutting out your apron. I cut out a rectangle of 81cms across to 49cms down. I then cut out the 2 bottom corners in a curve shape.

Image

2. Overlock all edges. As I wanted the bottom edges lined with lace I pinned & sewed the lace on. (With my measurements I used 172cms of lace to line the outside of the apron).

Image

3. I cut out the waistband measuring 154cms across & 12cms down. I pinned & sewed a lace strip down the middle of the waistband roughly 5cms in.

Image

4. Fold the waistband in halve with the 2 non-patterned sides together. Sew a line to secure it at the base.

5.As I had gatherings at the top of my apron, I sewed a straight line (but on a large stitch length & width length) so that I could tighten the top of the apron until I had the desired ruffled effect. Sew over it to secure the stitching.

6. With the 2 patterned sides together, sew them together. I recommend marking the centre of the top of the apron to the centre of the apron to keep them even.

Image

(This is what it looks like so far…)

Image

7. Pin the sides of the waistband up & sew along the entire waistband. Tuck the 2 edges of the waistband tie in & sew them. (Sidenote: Im sure there is an easier way to do a classier waistband but this is my novice attempt at one).

And tada…

Image

A kitshy apron for pastry queen Miss L plus a matching pot holder

Image

I bought a WAM floral pot holder & appliqued a tulip onto it. Im actually quite pleased at the way the 2 contrasting floral prints offset eachother I hope Miss L is too:)

Happy sewing

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Crafty creations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

