The mummy diaries

After a few days of rain it was great to see this glorious rainbow. Being a mum I feel like I have won the pot of gold at the end of it.

It is the easiest thing in the world to love my lil man, K-bear but its also the hardest thing to raise him.

My sister’s friend Miss T just had a baby & she was quite shocked at how little sleep you actually get now your a new mum. Every parent tells you but deepdown you think “ah”. It gave me a flashback to the first months of motherhood.

Sleep; just writing it makes me think of snuggling up under my duck down doona. Ah warmth. Glorious sleep!

Nothing prepares you for functioning on lack of sleep. Before his birth 11 months ago, I thought nothing of staying up late or waking up early. But hey that was on my terms so it was easier to manage. Now Im grateful to have a sleep in past 6am (yes thats a sleep-in after the occasional dreaded 5am wake-up calls). Looking back on the first 9 months, I do not know how I went so long waking up to 4 times a night for feeds? Apart from the occasional drive to my parents as I was “in the neighbourhood” & catch an hour or so nap in the spareroom while K-bear was being doted on by nanna or poppy.

At about 4-5 months old, he fooled me by sleeping thru when he started solids. It didnt last long (a week) but enough to have a bit of catch up. Friends & friends of friends would tell me that so & so didnt sleep thru til a year old. I love my sleep & a year is a long time. All I know is Im grateful for K-bear eventually sleeping thru (with a little push with controlled crying). I felt guilty the first night like I was the meanest mum in the world but when he woke up the next morning he still had the biggest smile on his face for me & I felt so energized with a full night’s sleep.

Sweet dreams all

Miss G

xx

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in The mama diaries, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

