Where the wind blows

I caught up with some school friends (yes I seem to categorize friends by how we met eg. school friends, work friends, mother groups friends etc) last Sunday. Originally we were going on an outing to the Zoo but then the weatherman said it would be raining so that ruled that idea out. The next best thing was a lunch out. I was in desperate need for a caffiene hit so we settled on Kava cafe in Bicton.

I had previously been to Kava cafe a few times before & I love love the fact that it’s tucked away off the main drag. What I dont love is the new signage from Melville council banning street parking when it was hard enough getting a parking spot before? After ten minutes of searching for a parking spot I was rewarded with this…

…delicious latte. Bless!

The four of us (minus sick Miss H) & 2 bubs got the best table of the cafe, meaning we could fit 2 highchairs at either side of the table. Next placing our orders; Miss A had a steak sandwich while Miss R & Miss E had panninis. I cant go past a curry when Im out (I cant cook them for anything) so I chose the Lamb madras curry.

On a cold day it was perfecto! I usually am that person whose face breaks out into a sweat when I eat anything spicy but the Lamb madras curry had the right amount of heat in it. Plus I had to multi-task feeding Mr K-bear & eat mouthfuls inbetween his mouthfuls so that might of eased the spiciness.

Lots of gossip about men, bubs, jobs, travel entailed. I have a bad habit of talking & moving my hands & nearly knocked Miss E’s mocha out of the waitress’s hands. Luckily she had lighting quick reflexes & placed them on the table without a blink. It’s nice to be in a cafe & have waitstaff that are friendly.

Not to mention g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s lighting. The kind of lights that are softer & create ambience.

The walls were decorated with my favorite colour of the moment; burnt orange=so warm, friendly & inviting.

Devastated I forgot to get one of these smarty cookies. Y.U.M…

Some of us were tuckered out from lunch. Gosh how I love my little K bear. He looks so sweet. And he is actually asleep in his pram which never happens?

We were so entralled with conversation, good food & service that outside we were clueless to the storm & strong winds. I didnt even realise that the sturdy galvanized gate from the house across the road had blown off until we were just about to leave. We had the scariest drive home & saw so many large trees had fallen down literally pulled out from their roots along the island in the middle of the road. Along with branches flying thru the air…

Then we get home to 24 hours of no electricity. I didnt realise how much I relied on technology til at night when my portable dvd player ran out of battery life BOO.On the upside the little man slept for a record 14 hours (crazy!).

www.kavacafe.com.au

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Eat, drink, burp Western Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

