A spoonful of sugar

Image

Mary poppins famously quoted” A spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down”. And today was one of those days that I needed my medicine (aka a sugar fix). My gorgeous lil alarm clock K-bear woke up at 5am & stubbornly refused to go back to sleep. Boo! This was after a few days of him spoiling me with 7am sleep in’s so you can imagine my confusion at the brutal 5am start.

I took him on his morning walk in his pram & hoped the soothing motion of the pram wheels over the bumpy gravel lulls him back to sleep (it didn’t). After his brekky I was rewarded with an hour’s nap. Unfortunately I was so tired that I went back to bed too. When K-bear woke up I fed him his morning snack & then made some delicious pancakes for me. (Just a word of warning its not for the sweet tooth light-hearted!)

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 4 tablespoons raw caster sugar
  • 1 & a half cups of self raising flour
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter

Toppings

  • Maple syrup
  • Butter for spread
  • Cadbury chocolate shavings
  • Blueberries & blackberries
  • Dusting of icing sugar

1.In a bowl whisk an egg & a teaspoon of vanilla essence

2.Sift raw caster sugar, self raising flour & a pinch of cinnamon in to the bowl.

3. Mix well & add melted butter. Mix in the milk in thirds until there is no lumps & the pancake mis is smooth

4. Heat up a frypan & add butter & when the frypan is hot, add pancake batter (in portions). When the pancake mix bubbles flip over & continue cooking the other side until golden brown. Makes between 6-8 pancakes.

5. Serving suggestions smear with butter, glaze with maple sugar, top with berries, dust with icing sugar & sprinkle with chocolate shavings (and or chocolate pieces too!).

Image

So much chocolatey goodness & would of tasted just as delightful with ice-cream (if I had any?!?)

The smell of the pancakes lured in…

Image

…a cheeky lil K-bear. You really cant tell he ate a mini-tub of yoghurt, a handful of grapes & orange slices & vegemite toast for  his morning tea the way that he had steelly determination to get to my brekky. Aw love my lil greedy guts! I even have some left for brekky tomorrow.

Miss G

About figsandtwigs

Hi Im Grace (Miss G). Proud mama to a beautiful boy Kobe. This is my corner where I share a mish mash of motherhood, fashion, craft, travel & all the random thoughts swirling in my head. Thanks for stopping by. Email love letters & queries to gracefigsandtwigs@hotmail.com Miss G xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

